WHAT IS KOSHER?
The word Kosher means fit or allowed to be eaten, and it has informally entered the English language with the meaning “proper” or “acceptable”.
But Kosher means more than responsible food preparation. Kosher refers to a set of intricate biblical laws that detail the types of food that a Jewish person may eat and the ways in which it is prepared.
The Bible lists the basic classifications of food items which are not Kosher. These include, but are not limited to, certain animals, fowl and fish (such as pork and rabbit, eagle and owl, catfish and sturgeon), and any shellfish, insect or reptile. Furthermore, Kosher species of meat and fowl must be slaughtered in a prescribed manner, and meat and dairy products may not be manufactured or consumed together.
To be certified Kosher, all ingredients in every product – and the process of preparing the product – must be certified for kosher-compliance too.